Kelly Tire Reviews

Updated 3/6/18

The Kelly Tire company (once known as Kelly-Springfield) is owned by the Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company. It is not as well known of a brand compared to the big players, but is one of the oldest tire companies in the U.S. The tire lineup covers everything from high performance car tires to light truck and SUV tires. They may also sometimes be sold under the Pacemark brand. Read on to see the ratings and our take on these tires.

FTC Disclosure: We may receive compensation when you click on our links and/or purchase products linked on this web site.

Passenger All-Season

Kelly Edge A/S
3.7 out of 5 based on 6 user ratings as of 12/13/17.
This is Kelly's new passenger all-season tire with a 55k mile warranty. The Edge A/S was introduced in 2015 (press release), so there aren't many reviews for it yet. Based on the pricing and the warranty, there are better choices than the Edge A/S. You might want to consider these Touring All-Season tires, which not only have a longer warranty, but are in the same price range along with having more consumer reviews:
4.7 General Altimax RT43 (65-75k mile warranty)

4.7 Kumho Solus TA11 (75k mile warranty)
Read all Edge A/S Reviews at Walmart.com

Kelly Explorer Plus
4.5 out of 5 based on 222 user ratings as of 12/13/17.
This is Kelly's older all-season tire. It is only available in a few sizes (14-16 inches). It has decent reviews, but we would recommend the Touring tires with newer technology and longer warranties (see General and Kumho tires above).

  • Dry traction: 5/10
  • Wet traction: 4/10
  • Snow traction: 4/10
  • Ride Comfort: 5/10
  • Quiet Ride: 5/10
Read all Kelly Explorer Plus Reviews at Walmart.com

Performance All-Season

Kelly Edge A/S Performance
4.4 out of 5 based on 5 user ratings as of 12/13/17.
The Edge A/S Performance has a 55k mile warranty, and was introduced in 2015 (press release). This is probably a solid performance tire based on early reviews. The Goodyear's Eagle Sport A/S mentioned earlier is a more proven tire, albeit a little more expensive. For example, in the 205/50R17 size, the Edge A/S Performance runs around $105 vs. $129 for the Eagle Sport A/S, per tire. If you're on a budget, the Kumho Solus KH16 (4.4 stars out of 5) or Kumho Solus TA31 (4.9 stars out of 5) are great choices, running at only $65 and $92 per tire respectively (price as of 8/31/16). Further, the warranty is 60k miles vs. the Kelly's 55k miles. Read all Kelly Edge A/S Performance Reviews at Walmart.com

High Performance All-Season

Kelly Charger GT
4.1 out of 5 based on 125 user ratings as of 10/12/16.
Kelly's classic high performance tire carries a 50k mile warranty. If you can spend a little more, we recommend moving up to Goodyear's Eagle Sport A/S, which has a better 4.4 star rating with the same 50k mile warranty. If you're on a budget, the Kumho Ecsta 4X II is significantly cheaper for a set of 4. Here are Kelly's own scores on the Charger GT:

  • Dry traction: 6/10
  • Wet traction: 7/10
  • Snow traction: 4/10
  • Ride Comfort: 6/10
  • Quiet Ride: 6/10

Read all Kelly Charger GT Reviews at Walmart.com

Kelly Edge HP
5 out of 5 based on 1 user ratings.
Kelly's new High Performance tire has very little reviews so far. It features a 45k mile warranty. We have no opinion on this since it is too new. We recommend the Kumho Ecsta 4X II instead, which ranks highly on our Best Tires list. Read Kelly Edge HP reviews at Walmart.com

SUV / Light Truck All-Season

Kelly Safari Signature
4.1 out of 5 based on 10 user ratings as of 3/6/18.
The Safari Signature has a 55k mile warranty with decent reviews. We prefer the General Grabber HTS60 instead, which has a 4.8 rating, and is offered in many more sizes as well.

Kelly's ratings of the Safari Signature:

  • Dry traction: 8/10
  • Wet traction: 8/10
  • Snow traction: 7/10
  • Off-Road traction: 4/10
  • Quiet Ride: 8/10

Read all Safari Signature Reviews at Walmart.com

SUV / Light Truck All Terrain

Kelly Edge AT
5 out of 5 based on 4 user ratings as of 3/6/18.
This is Kelly's new All Terrain tire with excellent early reviews and a 50k mile warranty. It was introduced in 2015 (press release). It's worth a try, though you might want to wait for more reviews if you're unsure. As of now our favorite is still General Tire's offering in the All Terrain category, the Grabber AT2, which has a 4.8 rating with over 500 reviews. You may also want to look at Tire Rack's #1 A/T tire, the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2. Read Kelly Edge AT reviews at Walmart.com

Kelly Safari ATR
4.6 out of 5 based on 32 user ratings as of 9/2/16.
Kelly's discontinued All-Terrain tire has a 40k mile warranty. We would also recommend looking at the General Grabber AT2, which has a 60k mile warranty along with a 4.8 review rating.

  • Dry traction: 8/10
  • Wet traction: 7/10
  • Snow traction: 7/10
  • Off-Road traction: 8/10
  • Quiet Ride: 6/10

Read all Safari ATR Reviews at Walmart.com

Mud Terrain

Kelly Safari TSR
4.7 out of 5 based on 40 user ratings as of 3/6/18.
The newer Kelly Safari TSR has excellent reviews - we also like the Dick Cepek Extreme Country tire which has a similar review rating in the same price range.

  • Dry traction: 7/10
  • Wet traction: 6/10
  • Snow traction: 8/10
  • Off-Road traction: 9/10
  • Quiet Ride: 6/10

Read all Kelly Safari TSR Reviews at Walmart.com

Snow / Winter Tires

Pacemark Snowtrakker RD ST2
4.0 out of 5 based on 7 user ratings as of 9/13/16.
These snow tires may be found with the Pacemark brand name. They don't appear to be readily available, leading us to believe production has stopped or is winding down. Read our Winter Tire Reviews for more options.

  • Dry traction: 4/10
  • Wet traction: 6/10
  • Snow traction: 8/10
  • Ice traction: 6/10
  • Quiet Ride: 5/10

Read Snowtrakker RD ST2 Reviews at SimpleTire.com

Discontinued Tires

  • Navigator Touring Gold
    • Dry traction: 8/10
    • Wet traction: 9/10
    • Snow traction: 6/10
    • Ride Comfort: 7/10
    • Quiet Ride: 8/10
  • Navigator Gold
    • Dry traction: 6/10
    • Wet traction: 6/10
    • Snow traction: 6/10
    • Ride Comfort: 6/10
    • Quiet Ride: 8/10
  • Safari Trex Featuring VersaTred - discontinued. We recommend the Safari TSR or ATR for your off-road needs.
    • Dry traction: 8/10
    • Wet traction: 7/10
    • Snow traction: 7/10
    • Off-Road traction: 7/10
    • Quiet Ride: 8/10
  • Trail Mark Max - discontinued. We recommend the Safari TSR or ATR for your off-road needs.
    • Dry traction: 8/10
    • Wet traction: 7/10
    • Snow traction: 7/10
    • Off-Road traction: 7/10
    • Quiet Ride: 8/10
  • Wintermark St Rd HT
    • Dry traction: 4/10
    • Wet traction: 5/10
    • Snow traction: 8/10
    • Ice traction: 6/10
    • Quiet Ride: 4/10

Sources

All "#/10" ratings are from Kelly Tires website (2011).

Pictured below is the Kelly Edge A/S tire on a Honda Accord, with a DOT code beginning with "PJ" indicating it was manufactured in Fayetteville, NC.

Kelly Edge A/S on a Honda Accord

You may also want to check out these brands' tire reviews at similar price points: Capitol Cooper Douglas Falken Fuzion Hercules Kumho Milestar Nankang Nexen Primewell Westlake Zeta