Cooper Tire Reviews

Updated 12/9/17

Cooper Tires is actually the fourth largest tire manufacturer in the U.S., though it may not be a household name like Goodyear. The tire line-up is relatively small, but they own a bunch of other brands (Hercules, Mastercraft, Dean, Starfire, Dominator, Roadmaster, Avon Tyres, Mickey Thompson, Dick Cepek, Chenshan, Austone, Fortune and Pneustone). They've been around since 1914, and recently reported $3.4 billion in revenue in 2010.

While their tires are rated fairly well, you may want to check their scores against our Best Tires list before you buy. For example, the General Grabber HTS60 SUV/Light Truck All-Season tire has an amazing 4.8 out of 5.0 rating and might be a better buy than the Discoverer A/T 3 or Zeon LTZ.

Touring and Grand Touring All-Season

Cooper CS5 Grand Touring
4.4 out of 5 based on 13 user ratings as of August 2016.

The CS5 Grand Touring is a long lasting GT tire for cars and minivans. Cooper offers a class leading 80K mile warranty. We would be happy with a set of these on our personal cars, but if you live in an area with significant snow and ice, we would recommend the General Altimax RT43. Also, some drivers on car forums have noted that fuel mileage dropped slightly due to higher rolling resistance on the CS5s.

Check Reviews and Prices for the Cooper CS5 Grand Touring at Amazon.com

Cooper CS5 Ultra Touring
4.6 out of 5 based on 29 user ratings as of 10/28/16.

Cooper's CS5 Ultra Touring is a performance touring tire, with a tread life a little less than that of the CS5 Grand Touring, evident by the 50K mile warranty for W-speed rated tires and 60K for H- and V-rated tires. Choose this tire if you prioritize better steering response and cornering ability over comfort.

Check Reviews and Prices for the Cooper CS5 Ultra Touring at Amazon.com

Cooper CS3 Touring
4.7 out of 5 based on 37 user ratings as of 10/28/16.

The CS3 is Cooper's standard touring tire, with a 50K mile warranty for H- and V-speed ratings and 65K for the T-speed rating. Reviews are good - we would definitely compare against the General Altimax RT43 and the Kumho Solus TA11.

Check Reviews and Prices for the Cooper CS3 Touring at Amazon.com

Cooper GLS Touring
4.0 out of 5 based on 31 user ratings as of August 2016. Read all Cooper GLS Touring Reviews at Cooper Tire

Passenger All-Season

Cooper Trendsetter SE
4.0 out of 5 based on 1 user ratings as of August 2016.

This is a very basic tire with a 40k mile warranty. We recommend the Kumho Solus TA11 instead, which has a 75k mile warranty with a 4.7/5 rating.

Read all Trendsetter SE Reviews at Cooper Tire

High Performance All-Season

Cooper Cobra Radial GT
4.5 out of 5 based on 32 user ratings as of August 2016.

Read all Cobra Radial GT Reviews at Amazon

Cooper Zeon RS3-G1 NEW
5 out of 5 based on 1 user ratings as of 9/15/16.

This is a new high performance tire from Cooper, fitting wheel sizes between 16 and 20 inches. 50k mile warranty if the same tire size is on all 4 tires, otherwise it is a 25k mile warranty.

Read all Cobra RS3-G1 Reviews at Cooper Tire

Ultra High Performance All-Season

Cooper Zeon RS3-A
4.5 out of 5 based on 20 user ratings as of 6/20/17.

The RS3-A is Cooper's UHP All-Season offering. Reviews are very positive

Read all Zeon RS3-A Reviews at Discount Tire

Ultra High Summer Performance

Cooper Zeon RS3-S
3.95 out of 5 based on 26 user ratings as of August 2016. 20k mile warranty.
We would lean more towards the BFGoodrich g-Force COMP-2, which have an 4.5/5 average rating, although Motor Trend likes the RS3-S. Read all Zeon RS3-S Reviews at Discount Tire

Max / Extreme Performance

Cooper Zeon RS3-S

This is a special 275/35R20 summer tire for Roush Mustangs. It has a Y-speed rating for maximum top speed. Motor Trend tested it against the BFGoodrich g-Force Sport COMP 2, one of our favorite UHP tires.

Read detailed review at Motor Trend

SUV / Light Truck All-Terrain

Cooper Discoverer A/T 3
4.4 out of 5 based on 10 user ratings as of August 2016. Read all Discoverer A/T 3 Reviews at Discount Tire

Cooper Discoverer STT Pro
4.85 out of 5 based on 21 user ratings as of 9/15/16.

The STT Pro has a good reputation among truck/SUV and Jeep owners. It is more affordable than the pricier BFGoodrich AT and MT tires. We would recommend further checking out the reviews linked below.

Read Discoverer STT Pro reviews at Amazon

Pictured below is the Discoverer STT Pro tire on a Toyota 4Runner:

Cooper Discoverer STT Pro on a Toyota 4Runner


Cooper Zeon LTZ
4.3 out of 5 based on 67 user ratings as of August 2016. Read all Zeon LTZ Reviews at Discount Tire

SUV / Light Truck All-Terrain Performance

Cooper Discoverer ATP
4.3 out of 5 based on 233 user ratings as of August 2016. Read all Discoverer ATP Reviews at Discount Tire

SUV / Light Truck All-Season

Cooper Discoverer H/T Plus
4.3 out of 5 based on 103 user ratings as of August 2016. Read all Discoverer H/T Plus Reviews at Discount Tire

SUV / Light Truck Highway Touring All-Season

Cooper Discoverer HTP
4.4 out of 5 based on 169 user ratings as of August 2016. Read all Discoverer HTP Reviews at Discount Tire

Mud Terrain

Cooper Discoverer MTP
4.3 out of 5 based on 7 user ratings as of August 2016. Read all Discoverer MTP Reviews at Discount Tire

Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx
4.3 out of 5 based on 7 user ratings as of August 2016. Read all Discoverer MTP Reviews at Discount Tire

Snow / Winter

Cooper Weather-Master S/T 2
5 out of 5 based on 14 user ratings as of 12/9/17.

Based on excellent reviews in 2016-2017, we've added the Cooper Weather-Master S/T2 to our top budget winter tire list!

Read all Weather-Master S/T 2 Reviews at TireBuyer.com

Cooper Weather-Master WSC
4.3 out of 5 based on 14 user ratings as of 12/9/17.

The Weather-Master WSC has above average reviews, but we would recommend looking at the S/T 2, above, or better yet, something from our best rated winter tires list.

Read all Weather-Master WSC Reviews at TireBuyer.com

You may also want to check out these brands at similar price points: Cooper Falken Hankook Hercules Kumho Nexen Yokohama