Yokohama Tire Reviews

The Yokohama Tire Corp. is consistently among the top 10 in the world in annual sales. Yokohama started in Japan in 1917, and has been producing tires for the U.S. market since 1969. In addition, many of their U.S. tires are actually made in the U.S., though we have examined the DOT code on at least one Yokohama YK580 tire that matches up to a Chinese factory. As of October 2015, Yokohama produces tires in the Mississippi and Virginia factories, providing jobs in rural areas. We hope this trend continues. Check out these ratings for Yokohama tires below.

Consumer Reports considers Yokohama a good brand, specifically calling out the AVID Ascend as a good all-season tire with a stunning 65,000 to 85,000 mile warranty, depending on the speed-rating of the tire.

Yokohama Tire Lineup for Cars:


Standard Touring All-Season

Yokohama AVID Ascend
4.7 out of 5 based on 79 user ratings as of 9/19/16.

The AVID Ascend has good driver reviews, with more reasonable pricing than Yokohama's performance tires. Several other tires in the category score better for wet, snow, and ice conditions, so if you drive in an area that frequently has inclement weather, we would recommend the Continental TrueContact, PureContact or General Altimax RT43.

Read AVID Ascend Reviews at Amazon

Performance Touring All-Season

Yokohama YK740 GTX
4.5 out of 5 based on 4 user rating (1/7/17).

Yokohama uses some innovative technology on the YK740, such as Orange Oil for better performance with high road temperatures, fuel economy, and possibly "Eco" purposes. The YK740 offers a relatively long 60k mile limited warranty, and the tire is available exclusively at Discount Tire and America's Tire. We are not certain why Yokohama only makes these available at one retailer. When comparing the tread pattern with Yokohama's other tires they do not appear to be available as a different model. Also, we read the DOT code off one set of YK740s as starting with the digits "4U", which indicate the tires were manufactured by Yokohama Tire in the Philippines.

What we like: It has a UTQG wear rating of 740 (thus naming the tire the YK740), which should make this one of the longest lasting tires in Yokohama's line-up.

What we don't like: It's only available at Discount Tire and America's Tire. Also, there are very few driver reviews at the moment. We would compare this to Yokohama's more well-known touring tire, the AVID Ascend, which also has the same UTQG 740 wear rating and is more widely available.

Also, the Orange Oil technology doesn't necessarily translate into customer satisfaction. Reviews are above average, but not at the top. The tires are also expensive compared to their peers, with even 16-inch sizes retailing for over $100 per tire. You should compare the YK740 GTX to couple of our other brand favorites, the 4.7 General Altimax RT43 (65-75k mile warranty) and 4.6 Kumho Solus TA71 (60k mile warranty), in the same performance category.

Read all YK740 GTX reviews at Discount Tire

High Performance All-Season

Yokohama AVID ENVigor
3.6 out of 5 based on 1,070 user ratings (8/29/16, from the Tire Rack)
We do not recommend the AVID ENVigor, based on the average rating of over 1,000 driver reviews at the Tire Rack. The main complaints are short tread life (poor wear) and noise. We recommend the best performance all-season tire instead, the Goodyear Eagle Sport All-Season. Read all AVID ENVigor reviews at Discount Tire

Yokohama YK580
4.4 out of 5 based on 248 user ratings (8/29/16).
The YK580 is a performance tire that also happens to have good fuel efficiency, exclusively available at Discount Tire and America's Tire. It has a UTQG wear rating of 580, giving rise to its model name, and oddly Yokohama provides the same 60K mile limited warranty as their YK740 GTX tire for H- and V-speed rated tires. The W-rated tires get a 45K mile warranty. If you're looking for the best all-around high performance all-season tire, we recommend looking at the Goodyear Eagle Sport All-Season instead, which has high scores at both Tire Rack and TireBuyer. Also, you may find that you can get the 4.9 rated Kumho Ecsta 4X II UHP A/S tire for roughly the same price. YK580 rating chart vs. other brands Read all YK580 reviews at Discount Tire


Pictured below is the Yokohama YK580 tire on a Honda Fit:

Yokohama YK580 tire on a Honda Fit

Ultra High Performance All-Season

Yokohama ADVAN Sport A/S
4.0 out of 5 based on 60 user ratings as of Apr 2016.
Read all ADVAN Sport A/S Reviews at Tire Rack

Passenger All-Season

Yokohama Avid S33 / S33B
2 out of 5 (9/19/16)

Yokohama AVID S33 tire on Dodge Grand Caravan These are quite possibly the worst tires we have ever seen reviewed. You might want to think of these as the Yokohama AvOid S33 tires. They are the OEM tire on Dodge Grand Caravan, Chrysler Town & Country. We bet Dodge negotiated a great deal on them. Unless you found them a good choice, we would strongly recommend buying one of the following instead. For example, in the 225/65R17 size, you can get the General Altimax R43 in the same load rating (102) with a better H-speed rating than the T speed rating on the Yokohamas.

4.7 General Altimax RT43 (65-75k mile warranty)

4.7 Kumho Solus TA11 (75k mile warranty) Read Avid S33 reviews at Amazon

Low Rolling Resistance (LRR) Energy Efficient All-Season

Yokohama BluEarth S34
N/A out of 5 based on 5 user ratings as of 9/21/16

The BluEarth S34 is classified as a Grand Touring tire and is the OEM tire on some models of the Toyota Prius. We are looking more into these and would compare them to the Bridgestone Ecopia, Michelin Energy Saver, and Continental ContiEcoContact line of tires.

Read BluEarth S34 reviews at Tire Rack

Yokohama Tire Lineup for SUV/Light Trucks:



High Performance All-Season

  • Yokohama Parada Spec-X
  • 4.35 out of 5 based on 8 user ratings as of Apr 2016. See Parada Spec-X rating chart vs. other brands

    Performance All-Season

  • Yokohama YK-HTX
  • 4.5 out of 5 based on 20 user ratings as of Apr 2016. See YK-HTX rating chart vs. other brands

    All-Terrain

  • Yokohama Geolandar A/T-S
  • 4.5 out of 5 based on 10 user ratings as of Apr 2016. See Geolandar A/T-S rating chart vs. other brands



    All Yokohama Car Tires (to be updated)

  • Yokohama A10F
  • Yokohama A82A
  • Yokohama ADVAN A048
  • Yokohama ADVAN A13C
  • Yokohama ADVAN A680
  • Yokohama ADVAN A83A
  • Yokohama ADVAN Neova
  • Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD07
  • Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08
  • Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08 R
  • Yokohama ADVAN S.4.
  • Yokohama ADVAN Sport
  • Yokohama ADVAN Sport Run Flat
  • Yokohama ADVAN Sport V105
  • Yokohama ADVAN Winter
  • Yokohama AVID Ascend
  • Yokohama AVID ENVigor ZPS Run Flat
  • Yokohama AVID S30B
  • Yokohama AVID S33
  • Yokohama AVID S34B
  • Yokohama Avid S34FV
  • Yokohama AVID S34PV
  • Yokohama AVID Touring-S
  • Yokohama AVS Sport
  • Yokohama dB Super E-Spec
  • Yokohama G92C
  • Yokohama Geolandar G91F
  • Yokohama Geolandar GO55
  • Yokohama Ice Guard IG20
  • Yokohama Ice Guard IG51V
  • Yokohama IceGuard IG52c
  • Yokohama S.drive
  • Yokohama W.drive
  • Yokohama W.drive Run Flat
  • Yokohama W.drive V905

  • All Yokohama SUV/Truck Tires (to be updated)

  • Yokohama ADVAN Sport
  • Yokohama AVID Ascend
  • Yokohama AVID S33B
  • Yokohama Geloandar A/T G015
  • Yokohama Geolandar A/T G015
  • Yokohama Geolandar G033V
  • Yokohama Geolandar G900
  • Yokohama Geolandar G93
  • Yokohama Geolandar G96B
  • Yokohama Geolandar GO55
  • Yokohama Geolandar H/T
  • Yokohama Geolandar H/T G056
  • Yokohama Geolandar H/T-S G051
  • Yokohama Geolandar H/T-S G052
  • Yokohama Geolandar H/T-S G053
  • Yokohama Geolandar I/T
  • Yokohama Geolandar I/T GO72
  • Yokohama Geolandar MT+
  • Yokohama Y356
  • Yokohama YK520
  • You may also want to check out these brands at similar price points: Cooper Falken Hankook Hercules Kumho Nexen Sumitomo